Minimum wage

Description: According to the State of Illinois Department of Labor, the minimum wage law “guarantees a minimum wage of $7.50 per hour for workers 18 years of age and older; workers under 18 may be paid $.50 per hour less than the adult minimum wage. Credit for tips may not exceed 40% of the applicable minimum wage. Employers may apply for licenses to pay sub-minimum rates to learners and certain workers with physical and mental limitations. Overtime must be paid after 40 hour of work per week at time and one-half the regular rate.”

For forms and links related to the minimum wage, please see the Department of Labor website The forms include the minimum wage/overtime form and the sub minimum wage application for employees with physical and mental limitations.

Please contact the Department of Labor at the following numbers:
Minimum wage/overtime information: 312–793-2804
Minimum wage toll free hotline: 800–478-3998
Sub-minimum wage & Sheltered workshop information: 312–793-2828

Source: State of Illinois Department of Labor: Laws
State of Illinois Department of Labor: Facts
Date Last Revisited: 4/01/09